DSC00557 DSC00558Chief Angela Demit being sworn in (August 28th 2014)


WRFN would like to congratulate the new Chief and Council

Chief: Angela Demit
Northern Tutchone:
Douglas Joe
Rosie Blair
Alt: Lino Battaja
Upper Tanana:
David Johnny Sr.
Gordon John
Alt: Charles Eikland Sr.


2014 WRFN Election Candidates:

For Chief:
Mary Angela Demit
Roland Peters

For NT Councillor:
Lino Battaja
Rose-marie Blair
Douglas Joe
Frieda Nieman

For UT Councillor:
Bessie Ann Chasse
Charles Eikland Sr.
Gordon John
David Johnny Sr.
Patrick Johnny

WRFN is seeking a Head Cook for the upcoming General Assembly, August 23, 2014. For further details, please contact the Executive Director at (867) 862-7802 or 1-866-862-9736.

WRFN is holding a Chief and Council Election in Beaver Creek on August 23, 2014.
Nominations close on July 16, 2014 for the positions of:
Two Northern Tutchone Councillors and one alternate Councillor
Two Upper Tanana Councillors and one alternate Councillor

Status members of WRFN and non-status members holding Canadian citizenship, who are 16 years of age or older on August 23, 2014, will be eligible to vote in the election.

Please contact Timothy Cant, Electoral Officer (867) 332-1941 or E-mail: tcant@northwestel.net, if you did not receive your information package for the election, if you wish to submit a nomination, or to request a mail-in ballot.


White River First Nation’s Acting Chief is Angela Demit. The pending election will be held in August, the date will be decided on shortly.



Houstan and Ted Sanford at their graduation

Houstan and Ted Sanford with Jenny Sanford at their graduation


Spring is just around the corner and with that the first installment of the 2014 quarterly newsletter is in production. Keep an eye on your mail boxes and email inboxes for all that is WRFN past, present and upcoming news!



This site is currently under construction.